I’ll Never Find a Soulmate…and I’m OK With It

I’ve thought about soulmates a lot over the years. I’ve never truly believed that there is that ONE person out there in the world for you and once you meet them, you both will know instantly that the other is “the one”, fall madly in love, get married and live happily ever after.

First of all -there’s logic. Logically, that’s completely unrealistic due to a bunch of factors such as GEOGRAPHY. What if my soulmate was born in South Korea and never leaves? And I never go there? We are destined to die alone? I don’t think so. What I do believe in, when it comes to romantic relationships, is you find someone you’re compatible with – you “click” in a sense”, then you build upon that relationship. Maybe you fall in love and decide that hey, I want to spend the rest of my life with this person.

I want him to be the father of my children. To grow old with me, to love me when I’m wrinkled and grey. That is a choice that two people make. They choose to be with each other and then it takes work to maintain that loving relationship. Sometimes it does last forever, sometimes it doesn’t. It’s always a risk. That being said, I know that I will never find a soulmate because I actually already have a couple of them.

They’re the only soulmates I’ll ever need. They know exactly who I am and love me unconditionally, as I do them. We’ve stayed up all night talking for hours, laughed ourselves to tears, fought like hell, and always have each others’ backs. They’re my sisters. I was lucky enough to be born with an older sister and given a younger sister 9 years later. Are we perfect? No. Do we always get along? No. But deep down we always know we’ll be there for each other, no matter what.

I would drop anything instantly to go be with my sisters if they needed me and I know they’d do the same. The love we have is so deep. I’m not going to chalk it up just to family or “blood” as I know many people don’t get along with their families and find families amongst others such as friends, S.O., etc.

However for me, I’ve nurtured the relationships I have with each of my sisters and I can confidently say that they are both my soulmates. I do hope to find that love with someone whom I can grow old with, have children and watch our grandchildren grow old together. I crave that kind of companionship and I have great optimism that it will happen for me.

But it’s only a possibility, whereas my sisters are my real happily ever after.

This article first appeared on Love is Weird

2 thoughts on “I’ll Never Find a Soulmate…and I’m OK With It

  1. Just beautiful! I also believe that there is no “the one” in the world for anyone. Relationships are started as friends and eventually built into a more serious relationship when two people feel that they are always happy with that other individual. .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

